Convention *UPDATED

Lieberman, I’m starting to like you. 

I’m impressed that he’s going against *his party to show his support for McCain/Palin (ouch Obama!).  Good for you! 

*Annie just pointed out that Lieberman is an Independent now.  Yes, I know that but he will always be a Democrat to me after running with Gore.  Plus, he considers himself to be an Independent Democrat. 

Here’s the story at cnn.com:

http://www.cnn.com/2008/POLITICS/09/03/lieberman.chairmanship/index.html?iref=mpstoryview

What did you guys think of Palin?  I didn’t know much about her before last week but she definitely stood out last night.  She seemed very strong and a little feisty.  It’ll be interesting to hear the feedback today.

*UPDATE:  I just finished reading my SIL’s blog.  She’s a Democrat, I’m a Republican (obviously) so we agree to disagree.  She commented on how she wasn’t impressed b/c Palin didn’t talk about any politics and just focused on her family and fluff.  You know, I really wasn’t surprised by that.  Even though I didn’t know much about Palin, I did know her views on the issues.  She’s very vocal about where she stands and what she stands for – unlike most politicians that dance around the issues.  That’s one point in her favor.  I hope she doesn’t change when it comes time for the debates.

9 Comments

Filed under politics

9 responses to “Convention *UPDATED

  1. i was very anxious to hear her speak last night and thought she was great! i loved how feisty she seemed, and confident and able to do her job.

  2. Annie

    FYI: Lieberman is now an “Independent”…he is no longer a Democrat. =) Also, I watched the speech last night (believe it or not). I kind of liked her in the beginning when she was talking about herself and her family, but I thought when she was in her “bulldog with lipstick” mode she came across as kind of shrill and bitchy…I know she’s new to all this, but I think she’s going to have to work on that over the next few months.

  3. annie, don’t worry – i know he’s an independent now but he will always be a democrat to me after running with gore. i will clarify in the post.

  4. Awesome! Then can you please tell me where she stands on three things? (I am not being sarcastic, I simply can’t find it anywhere.)
    1. Helping the middle class
    2. The housing crisis
    3. Education (This one is the most important to me). Where does she stand on No Child Left Behind and Positive Behavior Support?

  5. PS…I really wanted to like her because she is a cool chick running for VP. I just couldn’t find anything in her speech that impressed me.

  6. oh jennifer, i knew i’d hear from you :)

  7. I’m not trying to be a jerk…I’ll just check her website. :) Admittedly, I haven’t been there yet, I just hoped to hear some of it in her speech.

  8. Ok, she doesn’t have a website. Now what do I do besides the google search that didn’t yield much?

  9. i don’t think you’re being a jerk. politics fire us all up.

Leave a Reply

