Works-for-me Wednesday – Vinegar and Dripping Sinks

Wfmwbanner

 

 

 

Vinegar and Dripping Sinks

 

 

 

Okay…no judging please:)  Our kitchen sink started dripping about a year ago.  That drip got worse and worse.  My husband tried to stop the drip but didn’t have much luck until he turned off the cold water.  No drip but no cold water.  That meant we had about 1-1.5 minutes to wash our kids hands/faces after meals before the water became too hot.  Why didn’t we just call a plumber?  I don’t know.  We kept meaning to but just never got around to it.  Plus we had a busy schedule.  Do you like all the excuses? 

Yesterday my husband swore he was going to fix our sink for good.  He read up on fixing sinks, got out his supplies and  his trusty Home Depot book and asked me for some vinegar.  Vinegar?  He said that he had read in some Men’s Health magazine a tip that said that when fixing a leaking sink you should soak the parts that you want to reuse in vinegar.  The vinegar will get all the buildup and gunk off the parts.  So, he soaked them and it worked.  The parts were clean and he didn’t need to buy new ones (except for the one broken part).  Too bad my husband, while fixing the faucet, broke a pipe and we then spent over $700 having a plumber come out.  (Insert big sigh here.)  But hey, our sink now has both hot and cold water and no drips.

It worked for us and hopefully it will work for you.  Head over to Rocks in My Dryer for more helpful tips.

8 Comments

Filed under works-for-me wednesday

8 responses to “Works-for-me Wednesday – Vinegar and Dripping Sinks

  1. oh, what a bummer that he was able to fix it and not need new parts, and then have to have a plumber come over :(

  2. I didn’t know vinegar could remove plumbing buildup, good to know! Too bad about the broken pipe, but at least he tried :)

  3. Great tip! Sorry you had to hire a plumber. It’s amazing how much they cost.

  4. That’s freaking hilarious! (Well, the $700 isn’t funny…) But it sounds like something Dan and I would do.

  5. hi–i’m friends with illini_girl and read your blog off of hers. Anyway, vinegar works wonders on hardwood floors, too!

  6. i’ll have to try that…our entire downstairs are hardwood floors. i wonder if it stinks. thanks and nice to meet you!

  7. Okay – so I’ve had this leaking faucet in the bathroom for quite a while. I don’t know how to dismantle the faucet parts. So, I’m going to see what happens if I just pour a lot of vinegar over everything. I know I’d break a pipe (at the least) if I did try to take it all apart.

  8. whatever you do, don’t break a pipe! i wouldn’t have a clue what to do to fix a sink either.

Leave a Reply

