Creepy guy

I received this email today:

Ladies – this came from a friend of mine and the location is very close
by… just at 91st and Metcalf.  Take care!

Just wanted to give everybody a heads up!  I went to T.J. Maxx today
after playing tennis at Overland Park Racquet Club (OPRC).  When I got out
of my car, I noticed a white truck a couple spaces down.  The man in the
truck smiled at me – this was the ONLY reason I picked up on this.  I
thought it seemed a bit creepy but went on in the store.  I went to the food
section first and as I glanced up, I noticed the man from the truck one
aisle over.  I thought “hmm” so went to the towels to make sure it was just
a coincidence.  As I made my way to several departments, he was always there
at a distance.  I called my Mom first and kept her on the line – she told me
NOT to leave the store without calling security or the police department.  I
finally managed to lose him and saw him leave the store.  I was afraid he
was still in the parking lot and looked out the front windows.  He was
indeed still in the parking lot with engine running.  I confronted the
“security” guy at T.J’s.  He went to check to make sure it was the same
description of the guy I gave him.  He said that the guy was in the truck.
He had moved his truck next to my van going the opposite way so we would be
driver side to driver side.

      I think he finally figured out the “security” guy was on to him and
left.  I waited for several minutes and the security guy walked me to the
car.  I don’t know what he was up to, but he was up to something!!!!  An
officer from the Overland Park Police Department came over this evening to
take the report.

       SO EVERYONE BE CAREFUL AND BE VERY AWARE OF YOUR SURROUNDINGS.

       It was a White Chevy Truck _ _ _ 433.  The man had dark brown hair,
dark-rimmed glasses, bad complexion and was probably 5’10” or 5’11”.

2 Comments

Filed under warning

2 responses to “Creepy guy

  1. illinigirl

    Okay, I need Eric’s perspective here. . . (who knows what I would have done if I were in the situation and freaked out). . . I may have been more likely to call the police rather than mess around with the store security. Is that going overboard??? I just hate to think that this guy is still out there. While the store security may be able to help you in the long run, I’d like to see the guy IDed by the police.

  2. It’s never a bad thing to call the Police in an uncomfortable situation. Going to the security guy was probably a good move until the Police got there, but you’re right a lot of those guys have no training at all. However, if the creepy guy was really up to no good it was probably enough to have someone with her to keep him from doing anything. The Police should be happy to come out, i can’t promise that you wouldn’t get a cop who felt like it was a waste of his/her time, but that is what they are there for. I say if someone causes the hair on the back of your neck to stand up you should trust those instincts and protect yourself.

Leave a Reply

