WFMW – Lent

[wfmwbannerKRISTEN.jpg]

For Lent I’m giving up alcohol and an extra hour of my time each week. 

A few years ago we had this great visiting priest that gave a sermon on Lent.  He said that instead of giving up the usual things (chocolate, pop, etc.) you should give up something that will bring you closer to God.  Or take on something that brings you closer to Him.  Since then, I’ve tried to go to church twice a week during Lent.  That way I’m giving up that extra hour to Him.  I think when Luke and Kenny are (both) eventually in school, I’ll try to up that number.  Right now we’re lucky just to make the one extra service.  Mornings aren’t exactly my thing. 

So, what are you giving up?  Don’t feel bad if you say chocolate or pop.  Or even tabloid magazines.

For more helpful hints, head over to We Are THAT Family.

4 Comments

Filed under holidays, me and only me, works-for-me wednesday

4 responses to “WFMW – Lent

  1. I’m giving up dusting for lent. Just kidding! I’m wavering between potato chips and candy.

  2. But I like the idea of giving up an hour…maybe instead I will give an hour per week to United Way or something. Great idea!

  3. Hi! I’m giving up junk food and I am following the Lenten booklet i got at church.

  4. I gave up the snooze alarm last year, and it was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made! See link behind my name for the details.

Leave a Reply

