Help

Did any of you guys have or throw a great 30th birthday party?  Eric turns 30 on August 10th and I still can’t decide if I should have a big party for him.  Do I do it here or at a bar?  Or should we go on a mini-trip together (close but fun)?  Decisions, decisions.  I am so behind. 

Eric is sleeping now.  Before he wakes up, I’m going to make this a password protected post so he can’t see it.  The password is going to be “Eric’s 30th”.  Password changed to “30”.

I would love to hear any of your suggestions (themes, places, etc).

10 Comments

Filed under i need help with this one

10 responses to “Help

  1. Oooh, how can I see this then? LOL

    When my DH turned 30, it was the fall before we got married. I think we were so busy with the wedding stuff, that we figured why bother. Also, he doesn’t have a lot of friends, so there wouldn’t have been many people and that’s kinda sad :-(

    I’ll be 30 in March, and I don’t think I’ll do anything other than my usual dinner with DH and then seeing my parents at some point near my big day. I don’t have a lot of local friends and everyone seems to have a lot of stuff going on (work, kids, etc) to travel 2-3 hrs to our state.

    There’s always 40 for DH and I! ;-)

  2. I didn’t really answer your question. What do you think he’d like? You could always do it after his real birthday, and maybe a surprise? That would throw him off…wouldn’t suspect anything…although given his profession, he might! lol

  3. eric won’t be up until dinnertime. his days and nights are mixed up right now.
    don’t worry, i didn’t do anything big for my 30th either. i didn’t want to put it out there that i was 30 (i know, silly but that’s just how i was). eric said at the time that he wouldn’t mind having a party for his 30th so….here i am.
    i might have to do it after his bday like you said since it’s getting closer and closer to the big day.

  4. jamiemmiller

    Kelly (Leonard) Bobbitt had a Guitar Hero party for her husband’s 30th. They had a few stations set up where you could play the game, had a guitar cake, had guitar picks made that said something like “Bobby’s 30” AND we had to dress up like rockers. It was so fun!

    As for my 30th, we spent it at a wedding and we didn’t do anything for Brandon’s :(

  5. I had a surprise party for Matt at our house on his 30th. He and I went out for an early dinner while my sister watched the kids…I made up some excuse about her needing to be somewhere so we could only go out for dinner. As soon as we left, our families swarmed the house and got out all the stuff I had ready for the party.

    When we got back to the house, Hayley was playing out front with Luke, and he said, “Daddy, I need to show you something in the backyard!” So we walked back there, and both of our families and probably 15 or so friends were there.

    It was really fun to do, but it probably won’t happen again…it was a lot of work, and hard to keep a secret!

    • that’s really cute. i know it’s a lot of work but i bet it’s a birthday that matt will always remember.
      i’m 99% sure that i’m going to do something at our house. i just have to decide if it’s going to be a surprise or not.

  6. Yes yes, make it a surprise! He will love it! This is so cool. I promise I will keep my mouth shut!

  7. Amanda

    I already told you I think you should do a surprise party. :o)

  8. kirksonya

    A surprise party would be fun! Kirk knew about his 40th, but as you know I had a couple guest surprises come in town. You could easily still do the summer olympics theme too. If you are interested we can email back and forth and I can tell you exact games and such that we did. Really quick and easy to put together. Just let me know! Can’t wait to see what you end up doing!

Leave a Reply

