My Fitness Coach vs. Jillian Michaels’

Oh, My Fitness Coach, how I’ve missed you.

For a while it seemed like I was doing this game all the time so I took a break from it and tried to branch out a little more.  I also borrowed Jillian Michaels’ Fitness Ultimatum 2009 from the library so I spent some time testing that Wii game out.  I’ll get to that in a minute.   

Today, Kenny and I got out our weights and did My Fitness Coach for the first time in probably a month.   

006

I always let him pick out our workout location.  He either picks Urban Oasis or Alpine Retreat so we can play our “I see it first game”.   Urban Oasis has this helicopter that randomly flies in the background and Alpine Retreat has a hot air balloon and a bike rider.  Kenny loves to find them before I do. 

Now, on to what I thought of the Jillian Michaels’ game. 

The game had two options.  You could either pick a pre-programmed workout or you could pick the activities that you wanted to do.  I always picked the pre-programmed 30 minute weight loss option while Kenny loved to pick his activities.  The one that I did basically had me rotate between jogging in place (for under 3 minutes) and doing an activity (for less than 2 minutes).  When your run was over, you would come to a fork in the road.  One direction would have a question mark and the other one would have a picture of a certain activity.  If you didn’t feel like doing the pictured activity, you could take your chance doing the other one.  

Pros the game: 

– The activities were fun once you got the hang of them.  Some of them included monkey bars, kayaking, throwing paint grenades and punching.  A lot of activities seemed to involve squats and I definitely felt it the next day.

– The music was good

Cons of the game:

– The way you were rated depended solely on how you held and moved your controller.  This was REALLY frustrating at first.

– You had to hold your controller the entire time and I felt like I was always hitting buttons on accident, which would pause the game or take me some place that I didn’t want to be.

– The jogging in place didn’t really do it for me.  It would have been better if I could have done it in front of our treadmill and just hopped on during the jogging sections.

– There wasn’t any type of clock that told you how long you had been working out overall. 

Overall:  I don’t think I’d buy this game but I would borrow it from the library again.  My Fitness Coach is definitely better.

3 Comments

Filed under kenny, me and only me

3 responses to “My Fitness Coach vs. Jillian Michaels’

  1. Karen

    Cool – I’m considering one of these types of games!

  2. illinigirl

    I need workout activities to do after work that involve punching and throwing paint grenades. I may need to look into this. . . ;)

  3. kirksonya

    Good to know. I have the My Fitness coach and really like it, but have thought about looking into others…..

Leave a Reply

