New York – day 1

My parents gave me tickets to New York for my birthday so I could go see my youngest brother Mike.  My mom and I flew out and spent the weekend with Mike a few weeks ago and had a blast.  I left my nice camera at home so Eric could take pictures of stuff that Kenny had going on so the picture quality on here isn’t going to be the best. 

Day 1 started with a 6:55 a.m. flight.  While getting up so early sucks, it was worth it to get in to NY around 10.  We then had this crazy taxi driver who got us from La Guardia to Mike’s work within 20 minutes.  We left our suitcases there and had an hour to kill before we were meeting his boss for lunch. 

We walked down to the Flatiron Building.  There was an artist who made somewhere around 15 bronze statues of men  and then placed the majority of them on top of buildings.  Mike said when they first went up, people thought they were jumpers and called the police.  Look at one of the buildings to the right of the gold domed one and you can see what I’m talking about. 

So we saw Flatiron, walked through this cute little park and then headed back to eat.  Lunch was fun and Mike’s boss Andrew was really nice.  We all went back to the office after that and met the rest of his co-workers at NYU (he’s with the division that deals with the different hospitals).  You can tell that Mike really likes his job and is happy with where he’s at.  

After that, we checked in to our hotel and cleaned up a little bit before going to see the Statue of Liberty.  I guess if you want to actually go to the top of it, you have to buy tickets months in advance.  Mike said that we could take the (free) ferry to Staten Island (and back) and have a great view of it.  He was right (and the view of NY was great too).

When we got back to NY, we walked around the Battery Park area, the Financial District area and even saw where the 9/11 memorial is going up.  The last time I was in NY, the last of the rubble was being taken out.  The memorial is still a work in process but it looks like it is going to be really nice when it’s done. 

After that, Mike took us to see the building that they used for Friends and Carrie’s apartment from Sex and the City.  We had dinner at Benny’s Burritos and then went back to the hotel to crash.  I seriously think I was asleep by 9.

Up next….Day 2 and 3.

2 Comments

Filed under family, me and only me, travel, vacation

2 responses to “New York – day 1

  1. Karen Kelly

    OMG! Dream trip for me. You saw the Friends building? Awesome!

  2. That would be so awesome to see the places they used in Friends and Sex & the City! Sounds like you had a blast and I can’t wait to hear about the rest!

Leave a Reply

