Because I’m feeling domestic today

Here are the meals that we tend to make over and over again at our house:

1.  BBQ Sandwiches – recipe from my mom

2.  Angel Chicken – recipe from Three More Bites

My mom makes Quick Chicken, which is really similar to this.  But since TMB’s is done in a crock pot, they win.

Quick Chicken

Saute:  1/2 c. onion in butter (low-med. heat)

Add:  2 T. paprika and cook until dry

Add:  2 c. chicken broth

Add:  4 chicken breasts cut in bite size pieces

Simmer until liquid is almost gone.

Add:  16 oz. sour cream

Spoon over rice or egg noodles. 

3.  Baked Chicken with Stuffing – I have no idea where this one came from.

Ingredients:

Boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1 can cream of chicken soup

8-12 oz. shredded cheddar cheese

1 (8 oz.) package stuffing mix

1/3 c. milk

butter

Directions:

Butter bottom of 13 x 9 baking dish (I just spray with Pam or some type of cooking spray).  Lay uncooked chicken breasts on bottom of dish.  Mix soup with milk.  Pour over chicken and sprinkle with cheddar cheese.  Make stuffing according to package directions and place on top of cheese. 

Bake at 350 degrees for 55-60 minutes.

4.  Crockpot Lasagna – yet another recipe from TMB. 

5.  Chicken and Rice Casserole – I found this recipe on-line somewhere. 

Ingredients:

1 whole chicken, cut up (I usually cut up 3-4 chicken breasts)

1 can of cream of mushroom soup

1 can of cream of chicken soup

1 can of cream of celery soup (If I only use 3 chicken breasts, I usually leave this one out b/c it can get a little soupy)

1 cup of rice (I usually throw in a little more)

1/2 stick of butter, diced

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine rice, butter and 3 soups in a large bowl.  Put them in a large casserole dish or a 9×13 pan.  Put chicken on top.  Spice with salt and pepper as desired.  Bake 35-40 minutes. 

1 Comment

Filed under recipes

One response to “Because I’m feeling domestic today

  1. Thanks for the TMB links :)

    I’ve got to make that BBQ. I think at least 2 of the 3 boys would eat lots! And the quick chicken sounds really good, too!

Leave a Reply

