What’s going on

The last few weeks have been crazy.  As in, I completely over-extended myself crazy. 

Here’s some of the big stuff (nevermind the practices, games, normal work and everyday stuff):

1.  Chili Supper at Kenny’s school

I signed up to be the co-chair of fundraising at Kenny’s school this year.  Part of that position included putting the chili supper together.  Luckily, two of the women that ran it in the past were VERY helpful.  I’m sure I asked them a million and one questions but they patiently answered each and every one of them.  The easiest part of the whole thing was getting donations from stores and finding great deals on the food.  It was amazing how charitable the restaurant and four grocery stores that I went to were.  They either gave me gift certificates, food or supplies.  The hardest and most stressful part was getting families from our school to sign up to bring things (chili, muffins, crackers, drinks) or volunteer.  Everything came together at what seemed like the last minute and it seemed to go off without a hitch.  THANK YOU to everyone that helped out that night!!!!!!

2.  Family Fun Night at Kenny’s school

I also signed up to run the Family Fun Nights at Kenny’s school.  They’re only once a month but this one happened to fall on the night after the chili supper.  I did a dance for the kids and one of the dads at our school was the DJ.  It really was fun but it was just a really long week.

3.  New job

One top of all that, I was offered a new job two weeks ago.  I work in aquatics.  I’ve been at my current job for over 4 and a half years.  I love it and I’ll always have a place in my heart for it but I was just getting bored.  I turned in my resignation back in October.  January 1 was scheduled to be my last day but then they came back and asked if I would stay on until May, which is when my replacement would be there.  I agreed on the terms that I could cut way back.  My plan (after May) was to strictly work over the summers and stay home with the boys during the school year.  I’m sure that sounds a little backwards to some people but I like to be active at the boys’ schools and I feel like I just don’t get to see them very much during the school year as it is.  So, two weeks ago I was offered a job to put together and run a swimming lesson program for a local swim team.  The owner had actually approached me two years ago about it but I was happy where I was at the time.  It just seemed like perfect timing this time around.  I said yes and am looking forward to the new challenge.  I’ve spent the past two weeks putting a program together, getting instructors and starting on the website information and enrollment forms.  I’ve still got a lot to do but I’ve gotten off to a great start.  My lessons officially start in March.  March should be fairly quiet due to Spring Break.  I know things will pick up in April and May but the lessons are only for two hours on Sundays at one location.  That will change over the summer when we go to three or four pools with morning and evening lessons.  That’s next on my list to figure out. 

So, that’s what has been going on here.

1 Comment

Filed under kenny, kenny - 2nd grade, me and only me, my boys

One response to “What’s going on

  1. illinigirl

    This post makes me tired just reading it! Congrats on the new job! Sounds like a cool opportunity! :)

Leave a Reply

