Advent calendar

Our advent calendar holds two pieces of candy and a slip of paper for each day.  The slips of paper for December 1-12 have to do with The Twelve Days of Christmas and how the things in the song relate to the Bible (I’m not sure how true everything is, but I like it) and then the remainder are bible verses.

DSC_0806

Here is what each slip of paper says:

Dec. 1 – On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, a partridge in a pear tree.  The partridge is Jesus Christ, the son of God.

Luke 13:34

Dec. 2 – On the second day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, two turtle doves.  The two doves represent the Old and New Testaments of the Bible.

Dec. 3 – On the third day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, three French hens.  The three French hens represent the three theological virtues – faith, hope and love.

1 Corinthians 13:13

Dec. 4 – On the fourth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, four calling birds.  The four calling birds are the four gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John.  The holy gospels proclaim the good news of God’s reconciliation to the world in Jesus Christ.

Dec. 5 – On the fifth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, five golden rings.

The five golden rings are the first five books of the Old Testament, known as the Torah or Pentateuch.  The five books are Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy.

Dec. 6 – On the sixth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, six geese-a-laying.  The six geese are the six days of creation described in Genesis.

Dec. 7 – On the seventh day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, seven swans-a-swimming.  The seven swans are the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit:  prophecy, ministry, teaching, exhortation, giving, leading and compassion.

Romans 12:6-8

Corinthians 12:8-11

Dec. 8 – On the eighth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, eight maids-a-milking.  The eight maids are the eight Beatitudes.

Matthew 5:3-10

Dec. 9 – On the ninth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, nine ladies dancing.  The nine ladies are the fruits of the Holy Spirit:  love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, generosity, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.

Galatians 5:22

Dec. 10 – On the tenth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, ten lords-a-leaping.  The ten lords are the Ten Commandments.

Exodus 20:1-17

Dec. 11 – On the eleventh day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, eleven pipers piping.  The eleven pipers are the eleven faithful apostles, including Simon Peter, Andrew, James the son of Zebedee, John, Philip, Bartholomew, Matthew, Thomas, James the son of Alphaeus, Judas the son of James, and Simon the Zealot.

This list excludes the twelfth apostle, Judas Iscariot, who betrayed Jesus.

(The Gospel of Luke lists Judas the son of James instead of Thaddeus.)

Luke 6:14-16

Dec. 12 – On the twelfth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, twelve drummers drumming.  The twelve drummers are the twelve points of the doctrine in the Apostle’s Creed:

1.  I believe in God, the Father Almighty, creator of heaven and earth.

2.  I believe in Jesus Christ, His only Son, our Lord.

3.  He was conceived by the power of the Holy Spirit and born of the Virgin Mary.

4.  He suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died and was buried.  He descended into hell.

5.  On the third day, he rose again.  He ascended into heaven and is seated at the right hand of the Father.

6.  He will come again to judge the living and the dead.

7.  I believe in the Holy Spirit,

8.  the Holy Catholic Church,

9.  the communion of saints,

10.  the forgiveness of sins,

11.  the resurrection of the body,

12.  and life everlasting.

Dec. 13 – Philippians 4:4-7

Dec. 14 – Titus 3:4-7

Dec. 15 – Luke 2:14

Dec. 16 – John 3:16

Dec. 17 – Isaiah 7:14

Dec. 18 – 1 John 2:12-17

Dec. 19 – Jeremiah 23:5-8

Dec. 20 – 1 John 5:11

Dec. 21 – Luke 1:26-35

Dec. 22 – Luke 1:39-45

Dec. 23 – Matthew 1:18-25

Dec. 24 – Matthew 2:7-12

Dec. 25 – Luke 2:15-20

Fun Fact:  If you were to purchase everything mentioned in The Twelve Days of Christmas, it would cost you $107,300 this year.

Happy Holidays!

1 Comment

Filed under holidays

One response to “Advent calendar

  1. I LOVE this! Filing away for next year. This is what I get for reading blog posts every 2 weeks instead of more often :)

Leave a Reply

